• PROMESSES
  • TRANSAVIA - MONTPELLIER AEROPORT
  • LA CABANE
REPORTAGE

Narbo Martius, a wine rich in History

Narbonne was founded in 118BC at the crossroads of the Roman roads Via Domitia and Via Aquitania. With its ancient port it was the capital of Roman Gaul and called Narbo Martius, after Mars the god of war, fertility and agriculture. Since this time vines have firmly taken root here.

Gerard Bertrand has made his mark on this land. He was born in the Corbieres wine region and after a brilliant international rugby career in Narbonne and Paris, he multiplied his successes as a wine maker and seller. From his original Villemajou estate in Boutenac he developed his portfolio to achieve a worldwide reputation and today the former rugbyman heads 11 estates and chateaux in the finest Languedoc and Roussillon appellations, totalling over 600ha of vines.

The sportsman is committed to sustainable development and knows well about working as a team. With Neotera, the wine growers cooperative (Narbonne and Ouveillan), he pays tribute to the territory's Latin past with his wine Narbo Martius, produced in the three wine colours and grown on carefully selected terrain. In a bottle symbolising an amphora* and the Provincia region's 2000 years of wine making history, one can sample a bright white wine with notes of citrus and white flowers, a rosé with a perfume of spiced red fruits and a red with a breathe of the garrigue. Hubert BEAUCHAMP

* A short distance from Narbonne, in Sallèles-d’Aude is the Amphoralis museum, built on the site of a former pottery workshop whose amphoras holding wine and olive oil were destined for as far away as Sri Lanka and India

Château L’Hospitalet, à Narbonne (Aude)
T. 04 68 45 28 50
www.gerard-bertrand.com

 
Application
  • Macarons
  • Vignobles
  • Sculpture
Météo
light rain  16,3 °C  39,6 km/h ESE  80 %
  • AGGLOPOLE SETE
  • LE GOUFFRE DE CABRESPINE
  • LES MEDITERRANEES
  • pub_mazerand_resto
le mag
Magsud Magazine

• TRANSAVIA - MONTPELLIER AEROPORT
  • LA CABANE
REPORTAGE

Narbo Martius, un vin chargé d’Histoire

Au carrefour de la via Domitia et de la voie d’Aquitaine : Narbonne a été créée en l’an 118 avant notre ère ! Avec son port antique, elle fut capitale de la Gaule romaine et s’appelait Narbo Martius, du nom de Mars, dieu de la guerre, mais aussi responsable de la fertilité des cultures... Depuis, la vigne y a profondément enfoncé ses racines.

Et Gérard Bertrand creusé son sillon. L’ancien rugbyman, né dans les vignes des Corbières après une brillante carrière d’international à Paris comme à Narbonne, a multiplié les succès : vigneron, négociant, il est parti de sa propriété de Villemajou à Boutenac pour s’imposer au niveau mondial et se retrouver aujourd’hui à la tête de onze domaines et châteaux au cœur des plus belles appellations du Languedoc et du Roussillon. Totalisant 600 ha de vignes.

Engagé dans une politique de développement durable, le sportif sait aussi travailler en équipe et c’est avec les vignerons coopérateurs de Neotera (Narbonne et Ouveillan) qu’il rend hommage à la terre latine, avec sa cuvée Narbo Martius, déclinée dans les trois couleurs, issue de terroirs sélectionnés avec précision. Dans un flacon symbolisant une amphore(*) qui rappelle les 2000 ans d’histoire viticole de la Provincia, on déguste un blanc vif aux notes d’agrumes et de fleurs blanches, un rosé aux parfums de petits fruits rouges épicés et un rouge qui respire la garrigue. Hubert BEAUCHAMP

(*) À quelque lieues de Narbonne, Sallèles-d’Aude a créé le musée Amphoralis, sur le site d’un ancien atelier de poteries dont on a retrouvé les amphores destinées au vin et à l’huile d’olive jusqu’à Ceylan et en Inde.

Château L’Hospitalet, à Narbonne (Aude)
T. 04 68 45 28 50
www.gerard-bertrand.com

 

 

 

 

Application
  • Macarons
  • Vignobles
  • Sculpture
Météo
légère pluie  10,7 °C  24,7 km/h WSW  64 %
  • AGGLOPOLE SETE
  • LE GOUFFRE DE CABRESPINE
  • pub_mazerand_resto
le mag
Magsud Magazine